top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica L

3 Easy Steps to Get a Job Offer

Updated: May 9, 2019

Personally, I’ve been through the processes of writing up my resume and cover letters (especially cover letters) for hours and I applied for 30 jobs and did not get any job offers back, only one interview. I know the struggle and how frustrating it can get when you devote all your time and energy into something that doesn’t get you any results back. It feels like a waste of time.



In this world and in this economy, it is very hard to get job offers. Its common for people to spend countless hours researching, writing and sending out resumes and cover letters to many job sites and get nothing in return. That’s why these conventional methods of applying online and hope for the best are not the solution. It doesn’t work no matter how many people say go on indeed or any job sites and it will work, but it does not. There is, however, a much better way to get job offers. SPOILER ALERT: it’s not by sending resumes and cover letters in hopes you get even an interview back. I would like to add that I am not a recruiter nor an expert. I did this blog post from my own experience and research I conducted.

Another factor to consider for yourself is that you don’t know what the job is really about. Most of the job descriptions are too vague, so you must do your own private research on the jobs you want and then you can narrow down your findings to see what your most interested in. Here are the secrets of not only understanding the jobs you want better but getting those job offers you desire:



The first step (and probably most important step) is to make connections. You want to make connections so you can get a referral and/or you can interview someone on what their job is like on an average day. Referrals are your doorway into finding out what the job is really about. Do this by going to Lincoln and target people who are in your degree or work for your desired companies.


The second step is to get referrals from other people. Ask for directions on who you can talk to about a job from the persons experience. It helps if you offer to buy them coffee. Also, when you email them say something like “bob recommended I talk to you” that way the person knows you have a connection and are more likely to help you explore the job. Once you do this a friend can connect you to their CEO so you can ask how he likes it and what he does in a day. That way it would appear you are generally interested.


Lastly, this is on the more technical side of things, write the jobs computer description key words into your resume so when the data base looks at your resume and your resume matches the algorithms key words then that means you made the top potential candidate list.

These are some easy tips so you can conduct your own research and investigation. If you are going to take anything away from this post just remember it’s much better to make connections than continuously spanning your resume out there. I was lucky enough to make a connection through one of my classes. A classmate talked about his internship and how his job offers stipends for someone who lives over 50 miles away. With his help and recommendation, I was able to get my foot in the door and promote myself. I hope this helps to start your journey on the job hunt.



If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask. Most of this advice is a combination of my own experience and from this book I read called Designing Your Life by Bill Burnett & Dave Evans. It’s a great and brilliant book wrote by Stanford professors. This book did not sponsor me at all I genuinely recommend this book and my own universities academic counselor recommended it too.


If you like this job post for more information to get success in your life you may refer to this free video and get access to more success tips --> click me


Thank you for reading!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page