top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica L

How I am going through life in a positive way: My battle of finding my confidence.


In this blog post I may be getting a little personal so I’m warning you ahead of time. But remember that we all have our struggles in life and some are major or minor but nevertheless they are struggles that we must deal with and overcome. Here is my story on how I managed to build confidence, self love, and acceptance within myself despite one of my many obstacles I had to go through. This blogs goal is not meant to be cynical of the past events but rather to look at yours in a different light. A different and happier perspective.


Being confident and loving myself has been a long time battle. After years and years of feeling abandoned by my dad, which lead to mentally hurting myself, it can be rough to build self confidence. Especially when I am building from the ashes of depression. Also, it was/and still is difficult to present to people in an authoritative way because I am not 100% confident in my own abilities. I know, however, building self love and acceptance within yourself is one of the most important things you have to do in order to live a great life. Because nothing and no one can hold you back. It is the key factor in the essence of finding your own confidence. Sometimes you have to be honest with people and risk being confrontational to get the respect that you deserve; because you and I deserve to be respected by the world and live a happy, honest, and fulfilling life.



It’s also important to remember that life is not all about the money. That is why my dad left us because apparently you can’t be rich when you have kids. So, I had to learn to get over that loss and hurt because it's important to know that it has nothing to do with me. Children are sweet and pure and it has everything to do with the parents selfishness. But just remember that people, like my dad, is the one with the greatest loss not me/us. No money can buy that close connection of protecting and loving each other. Little did he know that true wealth is by the love and support of your family and/or friends and yourself. Most importantly yourself. Loving yourself and being happy, positive, confident, whole and fulfilled with yourself is the most wealth any person can possess. This being because I’m a firm believer that when the battle inside you is one, so is your life. Your life is won day in and day out because you built up the courage to go for it!


You have all that's in you to win the day and go for it!

So what if I don’t have money? I have a community of supporters and that is what I am grateful for. That is my mom and my sister, which is enough for me. Life is all about growth and accomplishments. Some people miss the true meaning of life because they are blinded by the money. Which is understandable because money = survival. It’s a simple equation that we all follow but life is not all that simple. Many people believe that once they have a million dollars life will be perfect, but that’s not always true… There are millionaires who have all the money in the world but are not fulfilled. Many say it’s because they feel like they are missing their purpose in life. That there is nothing driving them to wake up in the morning. With that being said, it’s important to look at your life in a positive light. For example, my dad is a pure narcissist. He only summons me when he feels like it. I have to remind myself that he still does love me in his own unique way. It may not be perfect and he may be a narcissist but it’s a positive and true way to look at things. I am still loved despite this knowledge of my dad. His father, my grandpa, is gone from my life and my dad wants to follow in his same footsteps… which concerns me that he’s not going to be there for his future kids too. But I can’t focus on that specific future. One thing I know for certain is that my mom and sister will always be there for me. And that’s what I can count and focus on. We all have bad things to focus on and worry about but sometimes we miss out on what’s right in front of us. That is the important people who are already there and those you can count on to be there every step of the way.


Burn from the flames of the past to discover a better future

Everything happens for a reason. We all experience some form of loss. The challenge is what can we do to make better of the situation given the hands that we’re dealt with in order to have a great life. Confidence in yourself and your abilities is a key success to life. Loving the world around you and knowing you are far more than capable of getting your tasks done. You are a wonderful being full of energy and power that only few know about. Love is the best guidance. You cannot be guided by anger and expect love to come into your life. Everyone has the potential to be great versions of themselves. The best part of it all is we all get to choose.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page